Temptations


“And he said to his disciples, ‘Temptations to sin are sure to come, but woe to the one through whom they come! It would be better for him if a millstone were hung around his neck and he were cast into the sea than that he should cause one of these little ones to sin.'” ~Luke 17:1-2

All right girls, let’s read this again. What comes to mind when you read the part, “through whom they come”? Well, if you haven’t sold drugs or dared anyone to steal anything from a store, you might think that you’re doing OK. But how many of us look at our closet when we read this?

By Jeff Kubina

We will all experience temptation, and hopefully we choose the right thing during those times. But how often do we check to make sure we aren’t the ones that are doing the tempting?

The most common type of temptation is visual. Whether it’s on a TV screen, a billboard, or what other people are wearing, we are always surrounded by temptation. We should all check our closets occasionally to make sure we’re not part of that list. Boys can be stupid. Agreed? And the last thing they need is the girls around them dressed in ways that tempt them to want more. That is not the way to get a good boyfriend anyway, and, really, who WANTS men to be looking at those places?

A quick sketch-up of some things close to what I have (I'm not sure where those brown shoes came from though).

My solution is: Layers

I of course try to buy jeans that don’t go down in back too far when I sit, and I try to buy long shirts, but there are so many CUTE shirts that don’t fall into that category that it is too long of a list to count :P. So I layer my clothes ;D.

Not only does this make a totally unique and totally cute look, it covers everything up!

**And as cool as that little girl on the side of my blog looks, I leave that bare-belly look to cartoons, manga characters, and computer games.

Standard equipment in my closet includes things like spaghetti-string tank tops (lace on the bottom is always cute) that go down and up far enough to cover both cracks. This time of year, I like to have one or two really thin long-sleeve shirts (grey and stormy blue will go with just about anything). These will fit under most things and keep me warmer than just that totally cute T that I got at half price ;D.

Please, Please, PLEASE wear clothes that are your size!! One of my pet peeves is when girls (or boys) wear clothes that cling to their body like glue and show every curve of their body. *Chokes and sticks tongue out* The weird thing is that it is always the heavier people who seem to be doing that. So PLEASE wear clothes that fit!

If you don’t think you can give up how you dress, then you might want to start shopping for your millstone before Hollywood cleans them all out.

**Edit to say: This no longer referring to the girl that is on the side of my blog, I wrote this when I had the “Girl in Green” theme and the picture that came with that blog. the girl that is now on the side of my blog is more like how I dress.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Great post and sketches. I never thought about those verses in the context of clothing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

