No Longer 19


Would you believe it if I said I wanted to be a chemical engineer? Just asking.

Another step forward, and hopefully none back.

I turned 20 in April, so sometime soon I need to be changing my blog name to something more like “On into the 20s” or “I’m Not Dead Yet” (which, as I dive deeper into the world of chemistry, is something that may be dangling by a thin string ;)

Anyway, I wanted to give you all a fair warning before I switched the name. I probably should have sent this out sooner, but I have been busy.

What’s to come?

Getting the orange on for U of I

A quick glance into the future has me at the University of Illinois in about a year, after I graduate from my community college. So I will be spending this year getting used to orange. I have been a fan of Purdue University for as long as I have liked sports. (That’s what happens when both your parents and all of your uncles on your dad’s side go there.) Orange is a big change from Black and Gold, but I’ll live. U of I has a good engineering program.

Other things coming up include my finally getting a break of three whole weeks, my first vacation since last fall; my best friend coming back from Japan where she has been for nearly a year; and I am thinking of dying my hair pink. ^_^ Why? No real reason,  just thought I would try something new.

Summer movie ratings

Summer is always a GREAT time for seeing movies and is when most of the big ones come out (though I am really looking forward to The Voyage of the Dawn Treader, which doesn’t come out ’til Dec.). Here are some of the movies I have seen so far:

Killers was a good movie but is for a teen and up audiences. It was romantic comedy (mostly comedy), with a little action thrown in. I thought it was funny! And fairly well done.

Robin Hood was very good! It goes back before when the regular story starts and tells how he became Robin Hood. It has a lot of action.

Prince of Persia was based on a computer game. I have not seen it yet, but my dad and both of my sisters enjoyed it.

Iron Man 2: I liked it alright. If you liked the first, you’ll like this one. There are some crude jokes, but it isn’t too bad, and a lot of stuff gets blown up, so that’s good ;)

Karate Kid, who learns Kung Fu in this movie, was good for being a remake. Though I should say that I was not overly in love with the old Karate Kid movies, like some people seem to be. I teach karate, so the old one seemed a little tacky. But I did really like Jackie’s role in the new movie.

The A-Team, based on an old TV show (which was good, but only when watched a few episodes at a time). The new movie is set before the story of the TV show. I thought that they did a good job of presenting the roles, and the movie was good.

Knight and Day was very funny. One reviewer said that he didn’t like it because the director used blackouts to get out of explaining the details of what happened. I thought that these blackouts were funny, and if you have seen any spy movies before, you know exactly what happens during these parts.

The Last Airbender got maybe a ‘C’ to ‘C-‘ (a barely passing grade). By the end it was OK, but it did not start real well. Younger kids might like it.

Eclipse was incredibly good compared to New Moon, which I thought was way too slow. The Eclipse book was better, too, and it had more for the movie to work with. Even as just a movie (not comparing it to the earlier movies), Eclipse was alright. Best line in the movie: “Doesn’t this guy have a shirt?”

There are a lot more movies coming out too, but these are the ones that I’ve seen so far. But don’t sit around watching movies all day!! Get out and do stuff… Like a beach party!!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

