Cut It Up


I like scrapbooking, though I don’t get much done when I am going to school. When I do get around to it, I do a lot of pages in a short amount of time. This means I need to come up with something new for each set of pages that I do, because I hate repeating myself. (Each memory should get something special!) Sometimes a different background is enough, but when I start running out of ideas, I get the scissors and cut up anything and everything I can find that might look good.

One of my favorite things to cut up are the pictures. ^-^

How I decide what to cut

It changes from picture to picture, but, at least for photos of people and animals, it all starts the same way.

I’ll use this picture by mikebaird as an example. To show you what I think about before cutting, I’m going to draw some lines over the original picture.

Thinking about the cuts

I start by boxing in the part that I want to focus on, I’ve done that in red here. in general, this should be the biggest box, because that will bring attention to it when it is on a page filled with glitter and flowers.

After I had drawn the red box, I started thinking on how I would cut up the rest. The first thing that I decided was the purple box. It looks good in the picture as a whole, but for what I want it will have to go.

The blue box is big enough that, if I want, I could cut it in to small squares or rectangles and use it, but it is also unimportant enough that I could throw it away as well. the area with the purple and blue is will most likely go with the purple box, but I’m leaving that option open.

I have a few examples of how I might cut this up (hopefully, it does not look too confusing). The blue boxes and the big red box are the ones I would keep in both of these cases. If you click on any of these pictures you will get a bigger picture to look at (highly recommended ;).

GAAAH!! You cut off her arm!!

Option #2

The important thing to remember while you’re cutting is that, when you put it on a page, it is going to have a gap in between each square. DON’T FREAK OUT if things aren’t lining up perfectly right away. If you wanted perfection, then you shouldn’t have cut the thing!! Adding one or two more cuts and making sure the gaps are equal will normally fix any line-up problem. Also, don’t try anything too hard, too fast!

In the first option, I left the top piece on and cut it into 5 equal pieces. You could take or leave the part that the purple box shares with the top blue box. The important thing is that you line the ends up after it is cut, so that you still have a rectangular picture. In the second option I cut off everything with purple around it, then I used bigger boxes. The big blue box balances the big red one, without taking away from the focal point because it is all empty space.

I ended up doing something in between these two options.

Slice and dice it

Here is the final product, cut up and matched with this photo by Poi photography (which I also cut up). Notice that the part I wrote on is just the top of the picture that the boy came from. Again, you can click on the image to see it close-up. All my page needs now is some bedazzling along the ribbon and a few cute stickers. :)

Fun In The Sun This Summer

As I had planned, I cut off the left side of the girls’ photo first. After that, I cut as much as I wanted off of the top and used that strip to measure both of the side strips. (You don’t what to use the first side strip to measure the second one, or the second one will be too big!) After I cut the large piece that was left into three equal pieces, I had to cut the two side strips a few times. This was so I could line the bottom of the picture up, as well as lining up the fence and the girl’s arm.

Use the top to measure the sides

See da top, it doesn't work! :O

So when I laid it out the first time was when I saw that, if I made her arm line up, the fence didn’t line up (and vice versa, of course). Also, on the top, if I lined up her head, the top line does not reach the far side of the picture. At first I cut two smaller squares off the top piece to line up with the two side pieces, but in the end I decided that it looked better with a flower there instead. :)

With the boy, I cut all of what you see into one big rectangle, turning it from a portrait-style to a landscape-style and keeping the top to write stuff on. After I had the picture the size I wanted it to be in the end, I used the paper cutter board to cut out the frame. (It just takes a little work to make sure you do not cut all the way through the frame, but rather cut a smaller box out of your first box. Or you could use an Exacto knife with a ruler.) Once the frame and the inside section are separated, you just need to cut a little off each side of the inside piece, and then you glue down the frame and put the now-smaller rectangle inside it.

As systematic as this all sounds, I usually am just making it up as I go along. I often run into problems that I didn’t think of when I started cutting, and I have to (A) try to fix it or (B) grumble a bit, learn from my mistakes, and print out a new picture…. :)

Some of my own

Here are a couple of the scrapbook pages that I used this technique on:

Me and my budd <3

Lined paper can be a blessing and a curse all at the same time. You can use the lines to keep everything straight… but no matter what I do, NOTHING IS EVER PERFECT!!! And the lines will point out the imperfections if one piece is too big, or if another was glued a hair to the right of where I wanted it. There’s NO winning! T-T

Girl's best friend, too.

Closer up, cuz I like this one :)

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I always love to see what you do with your scrapbook pages. I agree with you, that last one is cool, with the smaller framing squares not quite symmetrical around the dogs. Creative!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

